Ensemble Court-Circuit

Ensemble Court-Circuit


April 22, 2018

3:00 PM-4:30 PM


225 South St
Williamstown, MA 01267

Paris-based Ensemble Court-circuit presents “Mirrored,” a concert featuring the works of Ludwig van Beethoven and Helmut Lachenmann. Performers include soloists Pierre Dutrieu, clarinet, Frédéric Baldassare, cello, and Jean-Marie Cottet, piano.


Helmut Lachenmann, Allegro sostenuto, for clarinet, cello, and piano
Ludwig van Beethoven, Trio No. 4 op. 11, for clarinet, cello, and piano

Ensemble Court-circuit’s series “Mirrored” (“En miroir”) pairs classical compositions with contemporary ones. The inaugural concert in 2014 juxtaposed Philippe Hurel’s cycle for violin and cello with Maurice Ravel’s stunning sonata. In the following iteration in 2016, Marc Monnet “played along” with a piece by Leoš Janáček. In 2017, the ensemble paired two pieces for violin, horn, and piano by Johannes Brahms and György Ligeti, now both touchstones for chamber music.

For this fourth edition, the “duel” takes place between Helmut Lachenmann’s famous Allegro sostenuto and Beethoven’s Trio opus 11. These two major German composers stunned their contemporaries with their compositional and instrumental audacity, with their instinct for form, and with their originality.

Lachenmann and Beethoven: Two great creative minds separated by a century, but both inventors of form and sound, who influenced generations of subsequent composers and changed the course of music history.

About Ensemble Court-circuit
Court-circuit is composed of musicians from major French orchestras who have been members of the Ensemble since its inception in 1991. Members of Court-circuit, a Paris–based ensemble of contemporary chamber orchestra, are committed to finding bridges to modernism from works from centuries past.

Court-circuit is involved in interdisciplinary projects that go beyond the sphere of contemporary music. After working with the Paris Opera, the ensemble created two chamber operas in partnership with the Théâtre des Bouffes du Nord (Paris), and collaborated with the Opera Comique (Paris) on the opera La Princesse légère composed by Violeta Cruz and directed by Jos Houben (premiered in 2017).

This concert is presented in part with financial help from SACEM (French Society of Authors, Composers and Publishers of Music), Le Bureau Export for French music, and the French Ministry of Culture and Media.

Court-circuit is supported by the Regional Directorate for Cultural Affairs of the Île-de-France – Ministry of Culture and Media, as part of CERNI (Companies and Ensembles with National and International Influence). The activities of the ensemble are funded by the Île-de-France region as part of its support for artistic and cultural heritage.

Court-circuit is also in receipt of financial support from SACEM and SPEDIDAM (Society for the Collection and Distribution of Royalties for Performing Artists).

All ticket sales are non-refundable.